YOU by Charles Bane Jr

February 21, 2011

YOU

I came upon you

when I was a child

and kept the memory

close, through every

feverish year.  My hair

was silk from corn; yours,

black as the birds upon the snow

I fed the winter long. I opened books

at night and looked at barest

trees and wished for Spring. I watched

for leaves birthing like the stars. I made

poems, and saved the lights I found

waiting in my marrow. One day I would tell

you of the music I heard between its honey-

combs and followed til words rested

on a page. You would understand. You

would hold the glass and pour my amber

work until it filled you to a brim.

You would say, this flames the trees

and you are the harvester of my soul.

m

m

m
Charles Bane, Jr, has been published widely, in print and online. His work has appeared in : Clutching At Straws, museumviews. com, Durable Goods, The First Literary Review East , The Indian Diary, The Criterion, An International Journal in English, and Word Pond, among others. His work was critically reviewed in ” Charles Bane, Jr, : Introduction to a Poet”, in The Calliope Nerve.. His first book will appear in late Spring, published by Curbside Splendor.

6 Responses to “YOU by Charles Bane Jr”

  1. Barbara Perusquia Says:

    What a music…!!! What a poem..!!! Eres grande charles..!!!


  2. […] YOU by Charles Bane Jr « BACK ROOM LIVE!. The freshest in culture. Featured on PopPressed If You Haven't Yet Seen "Win Win," You […]

  3. Isabelle Pruneau Says:

    Breathtakingly beautiful, Charles. Thank you

  4. Judy Nussey-Patterson Says:

    Charles, this is the first pleasure I have had to read any of your work. Blessed to have this moment. Wow is the short gratz!
    … this feels like a love, burning since time began … the warmth flowing with each word of love … breathtaking …
    … wow again … sigh will come back, time again .
    warmest regards Judy 🙂

  5. Bonnie David Says:

    This is the poem that you forwarded to me in Facebook and it is expressed in the most eloquent and articulate fashion. I will always remember you my dear Charles and the beautiful work that you create is yet to be shared on my facebook wall for everyone to savor its beauty and yet its simplicity.

    With Gratitude


  6. […] by Charles Bane Jr  WATCH THE VIDEO HERE Share this:ShareEmailDiggFacebookRedditTwitterPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]


Leave a comment