EMPATHIC ATTUNEMENT by Valyntina Grenier

February 27, 2011

click to hear: EMPATHIC ATTUNEMENT by Valyntina Grenier

EMPATHIC ATTUNEMENT

I LOVE YOUR BRAIN

Here. Will you take this stone
and make a wish, then give it to the miller.
She’ll make you a page
while I sleep so the robot
can change me. I’ll wish for ice cream.

ICE CREAM

Surrounded by these columns, each heart-shaped capitol crowned w/ a brain,
I’d like to give you this tiny robot.
Hold it like a river stone,
here, in the palm of your hand, while I light the page.
Here’s to watching the sky change w/ my love, the miller!

“I’ll STAND BY YOU” SANG THE MILLER

waiting in line for a scoop of ice-cream.
She hid a love note on a page
of our notepad for me to find. Her brain
suits my heart like a precious stone
in its circle of rose. I hope she’ll forgive me this robot.

DEAR DA VINCI ROBOT

Thank you for helping the miller,
her Quern-stone
was blocking our path to the ice-cream
parlor. Origami brain-
I’m so glad you answered our page.

PAGE

Thank you for being brave enough to use a robot
to remove the endometriosis and organs that pained me, that seized my brain,
my spirit, the heart of the miller.
Now we can argue about ice-cream,
a simple scoop vs. blended w/ toppings on a cold stone.

DEAR DR STONE

Thank you for wondering. I feel as light as a page
descending in air. I feel hope. Eating ice-cream
can bring about joy. I stopped for some on my way to the miller.
It helped ease my brain.

“Ice-cream,” I sang at the cornerstone,
“Brain and Heart–” right here on the front page:
“Robot surgeon grants a wish,” for my love, Jane Miller!

m

m

m

Hi, I’m the creator of Back Room Live. My visual art can be viewed at Harriet Homemaker. I blog at Life-long Press. Check out my poem MORE ELSE at Spiral Orb or YOU’RE MINE YOU at Saint Mary’s Magazine or listen to HERE here.

One Response to “EMPATHIC ATTUNEMENT by Valyntina Grenier”


  1. […] I write poems too you can listen to and view one HERE […]


Leave a Reply

