BRL Saturday Night- A Tribute to MARLON EVANS w/ writing from Joseph O’Connell, Frances Sjoberg, Franci Washburn and Simon J. Ortiz, curated by Wendy Burk

September 26, 2009

Marlon B Evans Photo

Poet Marlon B. Evans was born on October 8, 1952 and left this world on July 28, 2009. Wendy Burk: Marlon was Tohono O’odham and Akimel O’odham, Desert and River People. He received a B.S. from Rochester Institute of Technology and a B.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Arizona. He had just completed his first year of graduate work in the University of Arizona American Indian Studies Program, with an emphasis in poetry and media arts.

When I think about Marlon, I think about the poems he wrote, and also the poems he had not yet written. We can’t know what those poems would be. But you can read a feature on Marlon’s work in the Fall 2007 issue of Red Ink Magazine, a journal of Native voices that was very close to his heart. And thanks to Marlon’s good friend Eric Mache, you can watch a video of Marlon reciting his poem “A Eurocentric Memoir.”

Marlon surrounded himself with a circle of other writers and artists, as talented and unforgettable as he was. Here, a few of them share their work in tribute to our friend Marlon Evans.


2 Responses to “BRL Saturday Night- A Tribute to MARLON EVANS w/ writing from Joseph O’Connell, Frances Sjoberg, Franci Washburn and Simon J. Ortiz, curated by Wendy Burk”

  1. Jason Asenap Says:

    Just tonight, for some reason I thought of Marlon again-and I wanted to remember him and googled his name, and here he is. And I wondered who out there had remembered my dear friend. It makes me feel good to see that this event occurred and I only wished I could have taken part in it.

    I am still in denial of his passing. I last spoke to him while I was on the road to Oklahoma, to Comanche homecoming powwow. I spoke to him while driving and I wanted to turn around, wondered if I should turn around. I wondered if I would be able to see him again. I prayed that I would and that our conversation would simply be one of many and that I was being typically worrisome. Little did I know it would be the last time I spoke to him again.

    We were to visit him the next weekend. I had planned it, my girlfriend and I. Marlon left us before that weekend arrived.

    I think back to our last long period together, Indian Market 2008. We had the best time. I picked up Marlon from the airport here in Albuquerque. I say picked up but actually I rode the bus to greet him. He gave me lots of heck about that. It gave him great kicks to give me grief about how he asked where I parked and I pointed him toward the bus, and asked if he has any spare change for the bus fare because I hadn’t any cash.

    I am a full twenty years younger than Marlon and yet we still connected in so many ways. He was one of the most generous, fascinating, interesting, intelligent, the list goes on and on…I miss my friend to this day and wonder if I will come across another soul whom I can connect with on such a deep level. It is a rare thing I know, the friendship I shared with Marlon B. and I feel lucky to have known him.

  2. Brad Wolff Says:

    I attended college with Marlon, in the early 70s, at RIT. During the confusion of the VietNam War, race riots in our cities, and the Women’s movement, a skinny kid from Jersey met an Indian from Arizona. Later, I got to explain to my family what a “native american” was, and it was good. There was something likable about Marlon, he was quiet, yet deep. While I was saddened to learn of his passing, I was proud to know a person who did accomplish much over his life, to bring forth the cries of his people thru poetry. We should all learn a lesson from Marlon. Rest in peace, brother.
    Brad Wolff


Leave a Reply

